The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 18 June 2019, 07:04 AM   #1
mightormagic
"TRF" Member

Need advice buying a 1991 Datejust Ladies Watch

Hi, I'm considering getting this watch for my wife. It costs around 4k USD. Condition: excellent.

The only thing that concerns me is the year is 1991. I have no experience of an old rolex or any rolex (lol), is it reliable, is it easy to service if something has issue?

Or should i buy a more recent year rolex?

Thank you for your help.
mightormagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 June 2019, 07:15 AM   #2
Walts
"TRF" Member

You must also check the band , Many times they have heavy wear . If you hold the watch at a 90 degree angle to the floor is the band parallel to the floor or does it kinda fall over ? Generally M. Young or Rolliworks can repair a band. Do they have the service history of the watch ? Or will it need a service ? You must figure all of the above into the cost.
Walts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 June 2019, 07:24 AM   #3
mightormagic
"TRF" Member

Here is the link of the picture.
https://imgur.com/a/S0o7rvO
Old 18 June 2019, 09:15 AM   #4
MichelleP
"TRF" Member

Watch: DD 40RG Olive dial
You need a picture of the bracelet. Could be a lot of stretch
MichelleP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 June 2019, 10:03 AM   #5
inadeje
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: me lose count.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walts View Post
You must also check the band , Many times they have heavy wear . If you hold the watch at a 90 degree angle to the floor is the band parallel to the floor or does it kinda fall over ? Generally M. Young or Rolliworks can repair a band. Do they have the service history of the watch ? Or will it need a service ? You must figure all of the above into the cost.
This ^