The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Ω Omega Discussion Forum

Old 2 September 2014, 11:07 AM   #1
ocgarza
"TRF" Member

Vintage PloProf Advice

I am the sole owner of a vintage PloProf that I purchased back in 1977 or so from Don Brod's dive shop in Austin, Texas. I want some advice.

I used extensively when I was a professional underwater photographer and scuba instructor. My watch had years of use (at least ten years!) and thousands of hours of underwater time. I trusted it with my life and it never failed me. But, being young and having to spend almost all my money on underwater photo gear, I did absolutely no maintenance on the watch.

It has been in my safe for at least at least 10 years and I got it out last week and wound it and set the date and it still works like a charm. Keeps perfect time compared to Rolex and Casio G-Shock and the date functions too.

The dial is faded, the case is worn with dents and scratches, the crystal has a few scratches.

When I was diving a lot the watch was the best piece of safety equipment a diver had. Scubapro had just released it's first dive computer (the old "bladder" model that tried to simulate recompression times) but for deep dives you couldn't beat an accurate watch and the Navy dive tables. This watch was with me on deep cave dives in Florida and Texas for Esquire Magazine, the now defunct "Oceans" magazine and numerous dive magazine articles. Took it to the Middle East on many non-diving photography jobs and despite its weight and bulk, was with me on all my backpacking and snowshoeing trips across the Rocky Mountains.
Then when I thought it was time to make some real money, I put it away and hadn't looked at it in a decade and had not worn it in at least twenty years! It sure brings back memories!