The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 10 December 2017, 05:02 PM   #1
persianstallion
"TRF" Member

Icon5 Looking for advice on Pre-owned Women's Rolex DateJust

Hi everyone. I'm new to the forums, so please excuse my ignorance, if this question has been answered somewhere, or if there is a reference post about it I should read first. Any guidance is appreciated.

I am brand new to Rolex. Looking to buy a pre-owned ladies DateJust as a Christmas present for my girlfriend, who has been eyeing them on eBay and other sites such as TrueFacet.

Based on my initial research, there is what I have decided on so far:
- Rolex DateJust model# 69173 any year with Quickset date function, as long as it is in excellent condition and recently serviced/authenticated by a reputable vendor with money-back guarantee.
- Rolex original case, bezel, Sapphire and band/bracelet
- She strongly prefers the 2tone 18k yellow gold & stainless steel Jubilee band, and a lighter (white / cream) dial color.

I am seeing a few options on eBay, where the dial has been refinished with custom added diamonds, which are obviously not Rolex factory original. Some are called MOP (Mother of Pearls). Do these modifications affect the quality and resale value of the watch? Should I stick to all factory original for highest resale value? They look really nice, but I am not sure whether it's a good idea or not.

Also, please let me know if you have any thoughts on the value of different dial colors, such as Champagne, Tapestry, etc.

I am looking to spend $2000-3000 on a pre-owned model. Any other thoughts or insights you can share with me regarding purchasing this Rolex model would be highly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance!
persianstallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2017, 01:23 AM   #2
amh
"TRF" Member

Watch: Various