The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 29 January 2015, 01:21 PM   #1
Bowlerhat
"TRF" Member

Gaining time while jogging

I am a newbie Rolex owner and have just bought a GMT 2. I set it on Christmas day and it lost 2 seconds over the first 3 weeks. Delighted. I do a lot of exercise and always wear the watch. However, when I went jogging, after 3 weeks of ownership, it gained 35 seconds over a 30 minute run. It then returned to its near perfect accuracy, but around this new datum. I have ran with it twice since and it gained around 10 seconds on both occasions. I checked the threads and found some discussions based around the way repetitive rhythmic motion generates centripetal force and through it an acceleration of the the "tick" and deceleration of the "rock" on the escapement and therefore a gain in time. Although the time gain seemed excessive for such an expensive watch, the principle made sense so I relaxed a bit. However, yesterday I did my usual jogging route with my venerable Oris diver on my wrist and it was +/- 0 over 30 minutes. I am about to put the Rolex in its box and take it back to the dealer, but before I do am I missing something? The only doubt I have is that if the watch was 'broken' its steady state accuracy would not be so good (or it simply wouldn't work at all). Thanks team.
Bowlerhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2015, 06:11 PM   #2
Banned

Could be magnetized. First take it in to be demagnetized (I think most AD's can do this?), go on a run and check it out, and then go from there. Sorry to ask but why would you want to run with a GMT master? It should be built to handle it if you insist on running with it.
997.2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2015, 06:28 PM   #3
Andad
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 Pledge Member

Watch: A few.