The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Miscellaneous Forums > Pens & Writing Instruments

Old 24 January 2011, 12:54 PM   #1
smartson
"TRF" Member

Pen newbie here, need suggestion please...

Hi all
This is my first post in pen forum, hoping some of you can give me suggestion on gift ideas.

My daughter will be graduating from university this summer likely with very good grade. She is doing BA in business/legal and is hoping to get into law school afterward. I am thinking that a nice pen would be a good graduation gift to her, but I know too little to pick an appropriate one.

My budget is $300~$500 for either a roller or ball pen, or $600~$800 for a set. I have an MB Meistertuck and MB seems a default choice. I want a pen that inspires, with beauty she can appreciate, durable as a life-time memorabilia and comfortable for her small hand. I don't want to spend too much to make her think I am made of money. But I afraid MB at that price range might be too generic. Which other brand and model are good choices? Is my budget appropriate? What would you suggest and the reasons?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Roger
Seiko SDGM001
smartson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 January 2011, 05:32 PM   #2
Shangas

Watch: 1957 Ball RR watch
Is the pen purely for pocket-jewellery? Or is she actually going to use it? Why Montblanc? How much writing is she likely to do if she actually does use the pen?

I'm not saying that MB makes bad pens, but one of the big problems with Montblanc is that it's too much of a status symbol these days, and that can go the wrong way sometimes. Some people think it speaks of shallowness and materialism. Why did you pick it?

Is your daughter going to be doing lots of writing? A ballpoint pen really isn't suitable for that. A rollerball or a fountain pen are a better choice.