The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 28 November 2011, 01:52 AM   #1
P2725TMB
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: AP, Rolex, Omega
Anti Reflection

I'm new to Rolex and am thinking of buying a DSSD (currently own a couple of Breitlings). One thing intrigues me though - why don't Rolex use an anti-reflection coating on their crystals? I understand just the date lens (or area it covers) is coated? With my Breitling watches the glasses are coated so that one can easily see the watch dial etc at any angle but on Rolex watches you often get flare.

I'm just trying to evaluate in my mind whether I will be able to cope with the reflections etc or whether it wil be too annoying?

Many thanks
P2725TMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 November 2011, 01:54 AM   #2
Mickey®
Banned

Watch: Swiss Made
Quote:
Originally Posted by P2725TMB View Post
I'm new to Rolex and am thinking of buying a DSSD (currently own a couple of Breitlings). One thing intrigues me though - why don't Rolex use an anti-reflection coating on their crystals? I understand just the date lens (or area it covers) is coated? With my Breitling watches the glasses are coated so that one can easily see the watch dial etc at any angle but on Rolex watches you often get flare.

I'm just trying to evaluate in my mind whether I will be able to cope with the reflections etc or whether it wil be too annoying?

Many thanks
To my knowledge Rolex uses anti reflective coating under the crystal.

They don't put it on the outside of the crystal...thank God. Have you ever seen an Omega for example who's anti reflec coating has been scratched up?
UGGLLYYY!
Mickey® is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 November 2011, 02:11 AM   #3
P2725TMB
2024 Pledge Member