The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 31 March 2012, 10:44 AM   #1
Hamster
"TRF" Member

Mid-1950s Oyster Perpetual - Worth Repairing

Hi Guys,

I've never owned a Rolex before but have just inherited this one from my Dad so I'm an absolute novice (my current watch is a Casio). He basically had it forever so I'm guessing that it's a 1950s watch. I took it in the Brisbane Vintage Watch Repair for an opinion. In a repaired condition it apparently be worth around AUD $2,000 and to restore it would be a minimum of AUD$600. The watch is running and is keeping pretty good time.

Any information about the watch would be greatly appreciated as well as opinions on whether I should go to the expense of a restoration or just keep it in the bottom of a draw.

Last edited by Hamster; 31 March 2012 at 10:47 AM.. Reason: Additional comment
Hamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2012, 12:03 PM   #2
Alcan
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: your P's & Q's
That watch is not of Rolex manufacture, its a poor quality counterfeit.
Member #1,315

I don't want to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol IS a solution!
Alcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 April 2012, 01:29 PM   #3
jjmcd
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alcan View Post
That watch is not of Rolex manufacture, its a poor quality counterfeit.
Disagree. It looks like a Rolex "Zephyr" from the mid-1950s. The reference numbers for Zephyrs are 1008, 9522, 6582, 9919 and 1009.

I haven't seen a Zephyr with the depth rating on the dial before, but there were a lot of dial variations in the 1950s that weren't documented.

A similar white dial Zephyr is a few watches down here: http://www.darlor-watch.com/rolex_watches_3.html

A black dial Zephyr is about 1/4th the way down here: http://www.bubblebackclub.com/pub_pr...ries_cat_id=13