The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 12 July 2013, 12:46 AM   #1
3sheets86
"TRF" Member

69 Red Sub

Just looking to purchase my first vintage and have seen this. The dealer looks reputable but I'm new to vintage and watch is miles away so only have the pics to go by.
What do you guys think?

http://www.dream-watches.co.uk/rolex..._examples.html
3sheets86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2013, 12:59 AM   #2
007Sub
"TRF" Member

Watch: 5514
bracelet is not original to the watch... lugs have taken on a lot of polishing and one in particular is missing quite a bit of metal (is thinned)... price seems high to me... dial and hands look nice from what i can tell

@true_patina
@true.dome
007Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2013, 02:18 AM   #3
Vincent65
"TRF" Member

Dane is alright, yes. Watch is nice - case has had a lot of polishing, as already said. Crown guards (esp. one) are pretty thin/pointed. I'd pass, but it's your call, obviously. Good that it had an RSC service, although that's now 8 years ago... Depends what you are looking for and what you want to spend, really.
Vincent65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2013, 03:38 AM   #4
3sheets86
"TRF" Member

Thanks men. Well I'm wanting to get into to vintage watches but as said I'm new. I want to learn but at the moment I'm finding it difficult tell when a case has been over polished and if the lugs and crown guards look right. I want to pay a fair price, I haven't got a massive budget at the moment but I'm not in any rush. I've got a modern Sub for everyday but I'd just like to pick up a few of the watches that have been on my cool list for years. I want to wear them but I would like them to be nice but useable. This isn't for me by the sound of things.
3sheets86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2013, 04:46 AM   #5