The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 30 March 2015, 01:19 PM   #1
Sixshooter
"TRF" Member

Watch: Crude Prices
Calling all guitarists! (or any musician)

So, I have been wanting to learn the guitar for quite some time now. I tried teaching myself when I was about 14 (almost 15 years ago), but quickly lost motivation as I had no one around me that played, and no way to take lessons at the time. I learned some basic chords back then, and only remember a few of them. So needless to say I am still a complete beginner. I am really interested in playing the electric, and I just bought my first guitar and amp to get myself started.

I do plan on taking some lessons, and I have heard of a few instructors in my area that have a good reputation. I have also looked into some of the online courses that go over all the basics. My question is, would I be better off starting lessons as a absolute beginner, or should I learn some of the basics from online courses, people I know, etc. before starting the in-person lessons?

I don't have any huge aspirations as a guitar player, I just want a new hobby and I really love music, so it seems like a great fit. Any advice from the musicians here on TRF for getting a guy started would be much appreciated.

Many thanks!

- VC
- AP
- Rolex
- Omega
Sixshooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 March 2015, 02:07 PM   #2
bungcarlo
"TRF" Member

Watch: Sea Dweller
If you just want to learn chords, I would suggest youtube or some online courses. Then you can advance by taking some lessons from an instructor. Save money and time.
bungcarlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 March 2015, 09:56 PM   #3
Dan Pierce
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: Rolex-1 Tudor-3
All the above. Learn on your own, find more accomplished players with similar musical interests, and find an instructor as well.
Good luck!
dP