The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 14 December 2017, 11:53 PM   #1
DMM_78
"TRF" Member

A couple questions for my first purchase

Hello,
Long time lurker first time posting. First I’ve always worn descent watches several Tags and my current watch is a Longines automatic. The Longines needs a repair (IMO the watch isn’t worth putting the money into it.) I’d like to upgrade and I’m very close to buying my first Rolex and have a couple of questions.
1) An AD in my neighborhood will sell me a Black GMT II that he’s been wearing for a month for $7200. The watch came out of their new inventory and I’ll be the first owner. It’s seems like a fairly good deal but was wondering if it was a great deal?
2) I’m a pilot so my watches get banged around coming in contact with metal surfaces and I’m skeptical whether I want to spend this much money on something that will get quite a bit of wear and tear.
3) If I don’t buy a Rolex to replace my current watch I’m leaning towards a Breitling Super Ocean with a rubber strap for work. I know their nice watches but it’s not a Rolex and wondered if the watch is really worth $3500?
Thanks
DMM_78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 December 2017, 12:04 AM   #2
tifosi
"TRF" Member

1) Sorry, I'm not up on the value
2) This is exactly what Rolex are built for. To take wear and tear.
3) See number 2, above.
Old 15 December 2017, 12:06 AM   #3
SeaDweller50
"TRF" Member

Watch: 14060M 2 liner
The GMT would be an ideal watch for your job as a pilot. Plenty other pilots on TRF with GMTC’s who manage to keep them in pristine condition. They’re very robust you know. Not sure if it’s a good deal or not, but someone else will let you know, I’m sure.
SeaDweller50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 December 2017, 12:09 AM   #4
MonBK
Banned