The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 3 January 2019, 02:24 PM   #1
Dinkhart
"TRF" Member

Lumes on vintage Rolexes

Hi all,
I'm new to Rolexes generally and am wondering about what to look for with lumes on vintage models. I've seen a few watches with faded or missing lumes and I'm wondering if this is something I should avoid. As an example, here's a Datejust on Chrono:
https://www.chrono24.com/rolex/datej...-id7788412.htm
One of the lumes on the Datejust appears to be faded or missing at 1 o'clock. Is this the sort of thing buyers should avoid? Or is it a natural part of the aging process for lumes to fade? Do lumes ever disappear altogether from a dial, and if so, does that lower a watch's value/desirability?
Thanks.
Dinkhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 January 2019, 03:40 PM   #2
214270Explorer
"TRF" Member

Watch: me buy Watches
Lume on vintage watches is going to be Radium or Tritium. Either one is going to be long since dead as the lume material deteriorates.

Tritium has a half life of 12.3 years. My 1987 Oyster Perpetual Date lost its Tritium lume waaaaaay back.

Older lume was actually a mixture of a radioactive material and a phosphorescent material.

Modern lume such as Chromalight is not radioactive, merely a phosphorescent material.

Older lumes CAN and DO deteriorate a bit into a dust which is why you will notice some seems to have disappeared.

I will let others chime in for your last question.

Rolex "some"
Tudor "some"
Damasko "some"
Misc Pieces "some"
Marathon "some"
GS Spring Drive "some"
Hamilton "some"
Findeisen "some"
214270Explorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 January 2019, 03:49 PM   #3
Dan S
2024 Pledge Member