The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 14 July 2006, 12:50 PM   #1
DWILZEN

Watch: Daytona/GMTII-C
Hi, New to group

Hello just wanted to say hey, I am new to group and have been looking recently at buying a rolex. Not real familiar with them but am learning. I think I am going to get either the SubMariner or the Sea-Dweller. I really like the Green sub but is very hard to come by. A couple questions just wanted to toss out there.
1. what is SS. Is that the regular sub or something different?

2. I found a green sub at a watch dealer ( howard Frum in chicago) and he has a few of them. A little expensive but he is not an AD. Is it safe to buy from a store that is not an authorized dealer?

Thanks

Dan
DWILZEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2006, 01:24 PM   #2
colemanitis
"TRF" Member

Watch: PAM 1090
Welcome to TRF! SS = all stainless steel..
Member #471
colemanitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2006, 01:30 PM   #3
colemanitis
"TRF" Member

Watch: PAM 1090
SS (stainless steel)

TT (two-tone)

Member #471
colemanitis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2006, 01:34 PM   #4
mike
"TRF" Member

Hi DWILZEN,

First a big welcome!

SS refers to Stainless Steel. The normal Sub and Sub-date as well as others in the Rolex sports line are made in stainless.
Certain models may have gold center links or bezels or be made completely of a precious metal and be refered to as such -- TT -- Two tone, YG- Yellow Gold..etc.

It CAN be safe to buy from other than an authorized dealer, but for your first time out I think I'd stick with an AD.

Grey Market dealers can have policies that might not be in your best interests in the long run.

Some (not all) have been known to remove serial numbers. A big problem should you need to send the watch to Rolex for some reason.