The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 14 October 2022, 02:05 AM   #1
mjolnir2thor
"TRF" Member

Watch: 5226G & 5513(1963)
Radium Dial Question

Greetings watch buds!

I've been doing some reading about Rolex dials and the use of Radium as a source of illumination on the submariner. From what I have learned, radium was used until 1962 where they then began using a less radioactive mixture. These Rolex dials (circa 1962 to 1963) were identified with a dot or a silver underline on the face of the watch. See link to article below:

https://magazine.bulangandsons.com/t...bmariner-7928/

So being a newbie, my questions are...
  1. Are the radium timepeices a safety concern and should be avoided for daily casual wear?
  2. For those transition models (e.g., underline/dot dials) is there a safety issuing with these timepieces? I would think the potential risk is less given the lower radiation level.

As always, your input/comments are appreciated.
mjolnir2thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2022, 04:09 AM   #2
Dan S
2024 Pledge Member

People don't agree on this because it's a matter of personal risk tolerance. However, there are dozens of threads on the forum, to you can read a lot of opinions, as well as essays about the penetration of alpha/beta/gamma particles, the associated risks of radon gas, etc. My impression is that the majority of vintage collectors aren't concerned about it, but there is obviously a lot of selection bias involved. And then occasionally you will run into someone who says that they have small children in the house, and any risk is too high, no matter how small.

Personally, as a scientist, I take an empirical approach, and I own a Geiger counter and radon meter to check ambient levels in my surroundings.
Old 14 October 2022, 04:46 AM   #3
mjolnir2thor
"TRF" Member

Quote: