The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 22 July 2023, 09:57 AM   #1
NiceSprites
"TRF" Member

Watch: Breitling Bentley
Icon1 ⌚︎ My Rolex Journey: Trials and tribulations - Part 1

Hola Rolex fam👋,

I wrote this post on my journey to acquire my first Rolex as a creative release and to share my experience with others.

My wristwatch journey began when my parents got me a TAG Heuer when I graduated high school in the 1980s. After wearing my TAG religiously for around 15 years, I sold it and acquired a (much larger) Breitling Bentley Motors T watch which I wore daily (model A25363, pictured).

Everything changed with the Apple Watch in April 2015. As a lifelong Apple user (and now Family) I'm deeply invested in the Apple ecosystem. As a tech geek, and textbook early adopter, the allure of the new Apple Watch proved irresistible.

I purchased the Apple Watch 0 and my Breitling went onto my watch winder, and later into my safe.

I’ve owned most Apple Watch models since the original, I regularly upgrade my wife’s (walkie talkie ftw!) and our kids get the hand-me-downs. My beautiful Breitling Bentley collected dust in my safe, save the occassional formal event (2-3x/year).

I’ve been mulling my triumphant return to my mechanical watch roots for a few years, but I didn’t want to simply return to wearing my Breitling (It’s a little too large for my wrist). So, it's decision time.

I’ve admired Rolex admirer since noticing them on the wrists of well-dressed businessmen as a kid. In my young eyes, a Rolex watch was a sign of status, but also a sign of confidence. It takes a certain type of person to pull off a Rolex, but when they do, it looks great.